Well, that was fast

BFP

My BFP. 1-9-2013

I woke up last Saturday morning having had a dream about my hot doctor. You’re thinking, “Ooo, sexy!” but really, it wasn’t. He’s never been in my dreams before, despite his adorableness, but this time he was, and I remembered it very vividly. Oneiric hot doctor told me that I was pregnant.

I was only 8 days past ovulation though, and I had no pregnancy tests in the house for use with first morning urine. I bought one at the store that morning and determined to use it the next morning, at 9 dpo. It was a stark negative. Not even the tiniest inkling of a line.

I waited until Wednesday, when I was 12 dpo. Woke up at 4:30 AM needing to pee, so decided to do it then. Upon coming back into the bathroom to look at the test three minutes later, I sighed, initially thinking it was a negative. Then I picked it up and looked at it more carefully.

There was a line. Barely visible, but there.

I woke DH up and made him come into the bathroom and check the test. He initially couldn’t see the line. I made him look close and squint though, and he saw it, though he said he would still be cautious.

I’m not sure how long it was before I looked at the test again, maybe 30 minutes to an hour, but eventually I did, and the line had more color to it.

My cat came up and licked the peepee end of the stick while I was trying to take a picture of my BFP. Nobody ever said he was a smart kitty. 1-9-2013

My cat came up and licked the peepee end of the stick while I was trying to take a picture of my BFP. Nobody ever said he was a smart kitty. 1-9-2013

The next step was to call up my hot doctor’s office and see if I could get a blood test to confirm. The nurse told me she would ask him to put in an order for the test. “Tell that slacker not to take two weeks to put the order in!” I said. “I want to get this done now.” Still, I envisioned my request being buried beneath a slush pile of other phone messages from patients. So, I dropped by the office and left a personal card. It read:

“Dear Slacker,

I got a positive home pregnancy test this morning! I would like a blood test to confirm. How awesome would it be if I didn’t have to wait two weeks for the order to be put in?”

I then rattled off my due date and said I had made my first prenatal appointment for February 4th. I’ll be 7 wks 3 days at that point. I’m hoping that will get his attention faster than the phone message did, but it’s been two days and still nothing from him, so it damned well hasn’t worked fast enough!

As the day wore on, I began to worry that maybe the initial line had been an evaporation line, and it had only turned darker because I had looked at it after the 10-minute window. I fretted and Google’d everything on evaporation lines that I could find. Most people said that they usually appear long after the 10-minute window, not immediately, that they usually have no color, and that they are rarer on pink-dye tests than on blue-dye tests. Still, I worried.

The next day, in late morning, I impulsively took another pregnancy test. I didn’t even use first morning urine. This time I stayed in the bathroom and watched that second pink line form. Though it was still very faint, it was definitely there and definitely had color. I am pregnant.

My period is due tomorrow. If I start bleeding any time in the next few days, I’m going to assume this was a so-called “chemical pregnancy” (i. e. very early miscarriage). But in any case, it appears that we were able to conceive after only one month of trying, having had the Mirena removed just barely a month prior. We are grateful and overjoyed.

UPDATE: Hot doctor called me a few hours after posting this, and he put in the order so that I can get the blood test done. Will go to have my blood drawn first thing tomorrow morning.

Categories: Hot Doctor, Pregnancy Test, Trying To Conceive | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Well, that was fast

  1. Hey lady, I have been reading your posts, but busy with work and school I havn’t been able to be a proper stalker! hahah CONGRATS are in order! You give me SO much hope! Although, since Christmas eve, DH is now not sure we should have another (breaking my heart) but if we do I am hoping to get knocked up just as fast! 🙂 I did the first time!

    You rock and I can’t wait to follow your journey!

  2. Thanks Dee! I am glad you’re still reading. 🙂 And I hope your DH comes around to wanting another one, and that you do manage to get knocked up just as fast as I did.

  3. Hey! Wow! Congratulations!! I agree…that was fast!!! How wonderfully exciting! Also, hilarious the way your Hot Doctor so kindly delivered the news to you in a dream. Stop calling him a Slacker, I’d say that was pretty expedient of him.

  4. Also, hilarious the way your Hot Doctor so kindly delivered the news to you in a dream. Stop calling him a Slacker, I’d say that was pretty expedient of him.

    Okay, this made me laugh so loud that my daughter called from across the house, “What’s so funny??”

  5. Pingback: FREAK OUT « Journey to a Better Birth

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.