Our Baby’s Name ♂: Serge Constantine and Why We Love It

Constantine gives Lucifer the finger as he ascends into heaven in the 2005 film *Constantine.* It is my professional opinion as a church historian that Protestant Reformer Martin Luther did something similar immediately after his death, 18 February 1546.

Constantine gives Lucifer the finger as he ascends into heaven in the 2005 film *Constantine.* It is my professional opinion as a church historian that Protestant Reformer Martin Luther did something similar immediately after his death, 18 February 1546.

I know, this one is very unusual, even weird, but bear with me!

Constantine is a name that I have always loved. Always. It’s partially due to my undergraduate background in classics, partially due to my knowledge of early Christian history, and partially due to my love of comic books (and yes, I thought the 2005 Keanu Reeves movie was decent, even if it had little to do with the comic book. I mean, almost anything with Tilda Swinton in it is decent. Except for Vanilla Sky, but I digress.). I just think it sounds regal and noble and I love its meaning. When I first became pregnant with DD in 2005, one of the first boy names I suggested to my husband was Bruce Constantine. At first he liked it, but later decided he wasn’t fond of “Bruce” for a first name. But the “Constantine” part has stuck with us.

When I first asked DH what kind of names he liked for a boy, he began rattling off French names, with Serge and Cecil near the top of his list. DH spent two years of his life in France and I think that’s where his affection for French names comes from. At first I was like, “Not a chance.” But later he became obsessed with naming a boy “Azrael,” and suddenly Serge and Cecil seemed perfectly tame.

I later learned that Serge is from the Latin family name Sergius, so it actually fits my classics background well. Some sources say that it means “servant,” but others say the meaning is uncertain, that it’s just a family name. Whatever the case, I decided I could give him “Serge.”

As with Evelyn Ivy, we plan to call this baby by his middle name, so it will effectively be “Constantine.” “Serge Constantine” just sounds better than “Constantine Serge,” and we like the idea of calling him “Constantine” better.

We’ve gotten a lot of negative feedback from friends and relatives when we’ve mentioned this choice, because of how unusual it is, but it turns out that variations of both “Serge” and “Constantine” are very common in other countries. “Serge,” “Sergio,” “Sergi” or “Sergei” is common in places like France, Belgium, Portugal, Brazil, Romania, Italy, Spain, Russia, and Bulgaria. “Constantine,” “Constantin,” “Konstantin,” “Konstantine,” and “Konstantinos” is common in pretty much any country where Eastern Orthodox Christianity is prevalent. People need to stop being so xenophobic.

My advice to the haters is as ever: go out, get laid, make your own baby, and name it whatever you want. You sound like you need to get laid, anyways. And if you wanna name your kid something boring like John Michael, go for it. Let me have mine and you can have yours.

Related:Our Baby’s Name ♀: Evelyn Ivy and Why I Love It

Categories: Baby Names | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “Our Baby’s Name ♂: Serge Constantine and Why We Love It

  1. Pingback: Our Baby’s Name ♀: Evelyn Ivy and Why I Love It « Journey to a Better Birth

  2. I love oldfashioned names and both of the names we have picked out are fairly old-fashioned. I especially love the name Evelyn Ivy! So Sweet. Constantine is awesome. I wonder though, what kind of nicknames can you pull from it? Seems like you could have fun with that 🙂

    It reminds me of a book I read about a vampire named Constantine. Not to say your baby is a vampire! ha. Also, it came out WAY before Twilight, so I promise it’s not teen-fiction.

    http://www.amazon.com/Sunshine-Robin-McKinley/dp/0515138819

  3. Oh! I got distracted by your name and forgot to share my news…..I am *tentatively* pregnant!??

  4. Oh my goodness, huge (tentative) congratulations! I’m off to read your blog now in hopes of more details.

  5. re: Constantine, I don’t think it nicknames well. “Const” or “Con” is about the best I can come up with. “Connie” is something we will adamantly resist.

    I love what my daughter says every time I ask her to recite the names we will use if it’s a boy or a girl. She says “Constantine” and then says, “That’s a long name!” lol.

  6. Shirley

    I stumbled over here from My Ob Said What. I LOVE that you named your son Constantine! My youngest son, also named Constantine was born in January 2013.
    For us, it was a compromise. I had wanted to use the name Constant because it sounds like a very strong name to me and it was the name of my Great grandfather and great great grandfather. My great grandfather was very close to my mother and he died a week before my little brother was born so my brother was given that as a middle name.
    My husband is a history freak, especially Roman history, and so agreed to the name if we could extend it to Constantine. We were asked by our OB and a nurse if we were Greek when they heard it.
    We got some crap about it too, but whatever! I call him Constant and Constantine interchangebly. My mother calls him Con to get on my nerves (that might have been her grandfather’s nickname, but I adamantly told her I disliked it. oh well.)
    When we tell people his name, we usually have to clarify that it is NOT Constance or Connie (Those are girls names!!) We say it is Constant like the adjective or Constantine like the emperor. He’s probably going to deal with being called Con-man, Convict, and Con-artist his whole life, too. But you take the good with the bad, right? No name is tease-proof.

  7. Nice to meet another non-Greek who liked the name “Constantine” enough to use it!

    Of course, whenever anyone asks if we’re Greek or why our son has a Greek name, I’m always like, “Actually, it’s Latin.”

    We call him Costa for short (which is very Greek). The doctor who delivered him is Greek and pleased we chose the name. My family is all rednecks though, so they call him “Bud.” 😛

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

